Reviews

Comments from the press:

Those with sensitive skin should try a facial customized by in-house herbalist and physician Dr. Li. After I filled out a questionnaire, Li checked my pulse, gazed at my tongue and diagnosed my health maladies (apparently, I have a weak spleen). He then whipped up an assortment of ingredients for my hour-long facial ($110). The process left my skin extra soft and radiant and me, an Eastern medicine convert. 40 Exchange Place 8TH FLOOR, NY. NY. 10005 (212-385-4973/4975).

- Leslie Price, Time Out New York

Acupuncture Reviews

I wanted to write to say Thank you! I went here with a Groupon and received 2 acupuncture treatments from Dr. Wei H. Li. He was absolutely wonderful!!! He was patient and thorough. I felt he really took time with me and was a true experienced professional. He even did the cupping on me which was an extra bonus and something I had never tried before. I felt so relaxed that twice during my session; I felt I had dozed off. My 2nd treatment was yesterday and earlier in the day, the left side of my hip had started really hurting. I mentioned this to Dr. Li, which is why I believe he felt I would benefit from the cupping. Anyway, today, my hip doesn’t hurt at all! Lastly, I felt the place was very clean and peaceful and the woman at the front (the receptionist) couldn’t have been sweeter! I truly loved everything about this place and I will definitely be back.

Gary A. Chicago, IL, 7/30/12

I’ve been to a few acupuncturists in my life but none were as good as DOCTOR WEI HAI LI. He is amazing. My symptoms cleared up immediately. I used a Groupon but I will definitely be a returning customer. I think they even take my insurance.

Arsenia R. Jersey City, NJ. 3/14/12

I started going to the Brooklyn location for acupuncture, and followed Dr. Li to Manhattan. Dr. Li is THE BEST. My sciatica is virtually cured. I have had other acupuncture but nothing like this. I try to go with some regularity just to feel awesome. I’ve never tried the spa services, but the acupuncture and cupping are like miracles under Dr. Li’s touch. This is the real deal, and not like one of the street corner Chinese massage joints on every corner. You’ll be so glad you went.

Lois A. Brooklyn, NY 9/24/11

Best acupuncture ever. I was sick as a dog from working exorbitant hours at work. I went in for a cupping & acupuncture session & by the time I was done my congestion had cleared up completely. I knew there was a blockage in terms of circulation (because I always wear heels), but I had no idea how effective the treatment would be. Incredible!

Steph C. NY. NY. 4/30/11

I love Spring Thyme. I’ve only ever had acupuncture with Dr. Li, and there’s no reason to look any further. I’ve gone in with back pain, and left feeling totally relaxed and pain-free. It’s incredible. It is clear Dr. Li is very knowledgeable and skilled. I’ve recommended him to many friends.

Rachael N. NY. NY. 1/5/11

I am a regular customer of the Spring thyme Wellness Center. I’ve received both, acupuncture and medical messages there. I’m a person who suffers with chronic neck and back pain due to herniation as a result of a motor vehicle accident 10 years ago. I’m so glad I found Dr. Li. Having battled with insomnia and depression for years, Dr. Li’s acupuncture and herbs has helped me so much. I am finally able to breathe easier and sleep better.

Edward S.

Went in here 41 weeks pregnant and really wanted to get labor moving along. Dr Li used just 6 needles in our session and a treatment on some pressure points on my feet. Whatever he did sure worked, I went into labor that same night. Active labor was only 4 hours. Another plus is that he takes insurance. Ignore the simple furnishings and lack of ambiance. If you want treatment that is no fuss but works come here.

Christine W.

I’ve been to a few acupuncturists in my life but none were as good as DOCTOR WEI HAI LI. He is amazing.
My symptoms cleared up immediately.
I used a groupon but I will def be a returning customer. I think they even take my insurance.

Arsenia R.

I wanted to write to say Thank you! I went here with a Groupon and received 2 acupuncture treatments from Dr. Wei H. Li. He was absolutely wonderful!!! He was patient and thorough. I felt he really took time with me and was a true experienced professional. He even did the cupping on me which was an extra bonus and something I had never tried before. I felt so relaxed that twice during my session, I felt I had dozed off. My 2nd treatment was yesterday and earlier in the day, the left side of my hip had started really hurting. I mentioned this to Dr. Li, which is why I believe he felt I would benefit from the cupping. Anyway, today, my hip doesn’t hurt at all!

D’Laine M.

I started going to the Brooklyn location for acupuncture, and followed Dr. Li to Manhattan. Dr. Li is THE BEST. My sciatica is virtually cured. I have had other acupuncture but nothing like this. I try to go with some regularity just to feel awesome. I’ve never tried the spa services, but the acupuncture and cupping are like miracles under Dr. Li’s touch.

Lois A.

I had a wonderful experience w/ doctor Wei H. Li and the entire staff. I too used a Groupon for Acupuncture and wasn’t expecting much else. I wanted to give it a try before deciding to splurge. After the consultation, I received the acupuncture PLUS a quick massage and a cupping session. I wasn’t expecting the cupping but glad I was able to experience it. It did leave very noticeable purple circles on my back but that’s the deal with this ancient practice. I feel great. It seems obvious that many of these establishments lose money on Groupon deals in order to get repeat customers. Well, count me in. They did a fantastic job and well worth the price.

Gary A.

Best acupuncture ever. I was sick as a dog from working exorbitant hours @ work. I went in for a cupping & acupuncture session & by the time, I was done my congestion had cleared up completely. I knew there was a blockage in terms of circulation (because I always wear heels), but I had no idea how effective the treatment would be. Incredible

Steph C.

I love Spring Thyme. I’ve only ever had acupuncture with Dr. Li, and there’s no reason to look any further. I’ve gone in with back pain, and left feeling totally relaxed and pain-free. It’s incredible. It is clear Dr. Li is very knowledgeable and skilled. I’ve recommended him to many friends.

Rachel N.

I work in the neighborhood and have gone to Spring Thyme for three acupuncture sessions and one massage. I definitely recommend them for both services.

Acupuncture: I have had great results of relieved back/neck pain after seeing Dr. Li. He usually does acupuncture (with electrical pulse), some slight massage of the troubling muscle, followed by cupping. My first time there was a slight communication issue (I prefer to get lots of explanation about what is happening and why, but Dr. Li was on the quiet side, listening and then doing the work). But after I explained my preference for more feedback, Dr. Li’s improved his approach and has answered my questions and explained what is happening and checks in on how I’m feeling with each needle/pulse area.I am happy that I can use my insurance (for acupuncture only) here because I do think they provide a clean, reliable service and all the staff is very polite. I don’t consider this the right place for people looking for a luxurious, glamorous day of pampering like a princess where everyone pretends to be your devoted servant. I find Spring Thyme to be more of a comfortable, health and wellness center with a homey community feeling, somewhere between a doctor’s office and a yoga studio ambiance. Try it for yourself!

Patricia Y.

Massage Reviews

Reviews from Yelp

We got a couples massage here and my boyfriend and I both had female masseuses. After filling out the questionnaire, we were led to a spacey room with dim lights and the massage started. It was so relaxing; we both fell asleep and woke up an hour later feeling refreshed. I’m sensitive to pain and prefer only a little bit of pressure and this was the first time I didn’t have any complaints. So for those of you who prefer strong pressure to get those knots out of your back might not be so satisfied.
After the massage, they didn’t rush us to get dressed even though it was almost their closing time and were not pushy with their products either.

Kristina P. Beechhurst, NY 10/14/12

As soon as you walk into to this spa you’re welcomed with a beautiful smell and lovely spa decor. I’m a Yogi so the Mandals everywhere made me feel right at home. I’ve been twice and have seen Mary both times. She’s great. Not mind blowingly spectacular- but very good and worth every penny. (I’ve drooled both times.) The price is right if you get one of the specials they run (mine was with Groupon) .I am planning on going every three weeks! Very clean, lovely experience! They are very professional and kind. This is my new regular spot! I used to go to Exhale! Fancy fancy no more!

Cara O. NY. NY 8/27/12

I was a bit skeptical with coming here since I purchased the massage on Groupon, but Spring Thyme was a wonderful surprise! I wish I remembered the woman’s name (I thought it was Mary). This was the best massage I’ve ever had. It was supposed to be a 50 minute signature massage and a 25 minute reflexology massage, but when I told her that I’ve had back issues she offered to spend the majority of time working on that. The 75 minutes went by too fast, I didn’t want it to end! I would definitely come back again

Alyssa M. Bayonne, NJ. 8/27/12

I truly received one of the best massages that I have ever had from Kayan, who only works weekends She is a true professional, and understood proper way to address my concerns (very sensitive, lovely bedside manner (no pun intended.) Used pressure points in conjunction with Shiatsu and Swedish, which was not normally included with their signature massage.) Place is quiet, low-key, soothing: Chinatown comes to Wall Street. Extremely clean, no frills-environment. They offer you a cup of water after your service is over. I am definitely returning! (If you want high-end luxury, e.g. Canyon Ranch, Bliss, etc.) then you will not be pleased. Frankly I am happy to find a place without “attitude.” If you want an excellent relaxing massage from a licensed therapist, this is the place for you!

Lydia S. Manhattan, NY 8/7/12

This is one of the best massages I’ve gotten in NYC. I had Kayan who was awesome! She is fully trained and NY licensed (unlike most massage therapists I’ve encountered, I suspect), and it shows. She was very professional, asking me if the pressure was okay, then asking me occasionally how I was doing, with a demeanor that would make anyone feel comfortable with her. The massage itself, great pressure and I could tell that she was combining different techniques although I couldn’t recognize what exactly. Whatever it was, it worked! I felt both physically and mentally refreshed. I have jaw pain and Kayan was nice enough to do some facial massage instead of sticking inflexibly to her routine even though TMJ is not her specialty. The location is a bit far for me, but if I’m ever in the area, I would certainly go back!

Jubilee C. NY. NY. 8/1/12

Spring Thyme has some of the best masseuses at incredibly reasonable rates in the city. I come back here probably once every 2 months and have never had a bad experience. I’ve been visiting this spa for over a year and a half. The atmosphere is very professional and the masseuses know what they’re doing. I always leave feeling completely relaxed. It’s addicting.

Ron C. NY, NY 11/12/11

I have been going to Spring Thyme for a few years now!!! However, yesterday I went for a last minute appointment. Giovanna did such a great job, I walked in tight and in pain (back and neck), I especially loved the hot towels. Next time I’ll try the hot stones.

Delphine L.

I am a regular customer of the Spring thyme Wellness spa. I’ve received both, acupuncture and medical messages there. I’m a person who suffers with chronic neck and back pain due to herniation as a result of a motor vehicle accident 10 years ago. I normally get some much relief of my pain after their messages or acupuncture treatment. I would recommend Kayan, my message therapist. She’s very kind, she’s a great therapist and she knows what she’s doing. I have recommended many of my friends to the Spring Thyme many, many times.

Edward S.

Reviews from Lifebooker

“Excellent service. I felt very comfortable and welcomed. I will be going again!! :)”

“great customer service, one of the cleanest place and accommodating spa. did a great job. I strongly recommend this place.”

“What a great massage! wow…”

“I took my partner for a couple massage we both were amazed! The massage was very professional and great we both enjoyed it very much – I took my friend and went there again with my partner – love it!”

“I bought this massage for my husband and he loved it!”

“The massage was very relaxing and the therapist was very professional. The location was very convenient for me. I would make another appointment at the Spa again.”

Reviews from CitySearch

I purchased a couple massage and went this past weekend w/my boyfriend. He kind of gave me a look when we got off the elevator, as if to say, “are you kidding me?” what kind of “spa” is this … to which I responded – don’t judge a book by its cover. I had my massage with Philip, he had his with Kayan. It was hands down the best massage

“As soon as I walked in to Spring Thyme I felt comfortable. The staff is great and very helpful. The ambiance of Spring Thyme is all very relaxing.”

“I was super impressed with the place and the people who helped me!”

“Spring Thyme Spa is a great find! I cannot recommend it enough.”

“I just got back from my 50min Deep Tissue massage, and oh my god, this was one of the best massages I’ve ever gotten. My masseuse was Marina and she did an excellent job. I’ve never felt so relaxed. I already made a second appointment for this week.”

© 2013 Spring Thyme Wellness Center. All rights reserved. | Policies | Designed and Hosted by Kohrtoons